top of page

Meet the owner: balancing business & motherhood

It's no secret that being a mother is hard work. Pouring your heart and soul into little beings is the most rewarding work, yet it is simultaneously the most exhausting. Parenthood is full of dichotomies--tears & giggles, struggles & triumphs (potty training!), traditions & new favorites. Motherhood takes the best of me while refining me daily. Building a small business brings similar challenges--time management, budgeting, prioritizing tasks. I'm often asked, "how do you do it all?" My Short answer is, "I don't!" Just like everyone else, my life is made up of a million small choices. After having grown Ruby Rain Organics over the past four years, I've had to learn how to blend the business with our growing family which is both rewarding and challenging.

But there is also a part of me that loves watching my business grow. I love watching the momentum of a brand that I built myself. I love seeing loyal customers rave about my products. There is something so gratifying about growing a business. While it's no secret that I'm horrible at keeping up with social media, I still love pouring time into Ruby Rain Organics each week to see how I can make it grow and develop. I love talking business with my kids who like to brainstorm about their own entrepreneurial ideas. Doing my best to blend the entrepreneur & mother, I try to find ways to include the kids when I can. I just returned from picking up a couple wholesale orders in Eugene with my two littles this morning. In getting geared up for my fall rush and Christmas craft shows, I'm finding ways my kids can help with tasks. While my laundry may still be waiting patiently to be folded, I love finding ways to kindle the entrepreneur in me and enjoy the sweet moments of motherhood.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Pinterest Classic
bottom of page